Hello There, Guest!  
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Mount USB external drive

plexpi 1.2

Just loaded this image on my pi.  Love it so far.  But how do i permanently mount a USB external drive so I can read it across my home network.  This is also so I can transfer my new movies directly to the external drive without unplugging and plugging it back to the pi.

I'm also trying to SSH into the pi via my terminal (Mac) but don't know the user name and password.

thanks for your help in advance
This whole post is exactly what I'm currently trying to do! 

My main problem is the default username/password that I can't find. 

Anyway, I was going to try turning the plexpi into some kind of (more normal) server on top of the Plex software so that I can access the hdd from other computers in my network. I still have to do a lot of research on that, though. I'm a relative noob with this sort of thing. 

Just to be sure, have you enabled SSH on your RPi? This is the main RPi documentation.
The username and password by default is : 
Username : pi
Password : plexpi1

To transfer file from your main computer to the HDD, you can use filezilla. You can find documentation (in French) here : http://raspberrypis.net/transferer-facil...pberry-pi/

The ssh is already activated, don't sorry about this.

Do a blkid and see what UUID your device is you want to mount.

Make a folder like in /media like this:

mkdir /media/USB-stick

Name it what you want.

then do a nano /etc/fstab

Add a line like this:

UUID=0834a8a9-629c-4456-9cce-921b930a6dab       /media/64GB_stick       ext4   defaults 0       0

But change the UUID number and the 64GB_stick and even the ext4 if yours is not in that format.

Or install Webmin and it makes it easy to mount a drive and save it to /etcfstab. Just look on line for install webmin on ubuntu and can find how. I did this all on a 8GB SD card. It all fits 

Code:
[email protected]:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on